Posts Tagged ‘executive’s awards’

Congratulations to the 2012 Executive’s Awards recipients!

Tuesday, September 25th, 2012

We are thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2012 Montgomery County Executive’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts and Humanities:

  • Lifetime Impact Award – Eliot Pfanstiehl
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Carol Leahy
  • Patron Award – Robert Dohmen
  • Community Award – Honorable Jud Ashman, Gaithersburg Book Festival
  • Education Award – Claire Schwadron, Project Youth ArtReach of Class Acts Arts, Inc.
  • Emerging Leader Award – Jennifer Buzzell, Strathmore
  • Outstanding Artist or Scholar Award – Allan Stevens, the Puppet Co.
  • Volunteer Award – Alan Bowser, Silver Spring Town Center, Inc.

These individuals will receive their awards at a special ceremony on Monday, October 22 at the Cultural Arts Center, Montgomery College Takoma Park/Silver Spring. Recipients of FY12 and FY13 grant awards from AHCMC will also be recognized. The event is free and open to all, and tickets are required. Tickets will be made available to the public on Monday, October 1 at

Congratulations again to this year’s award recipients, and we hope to see you at the ceremony on October 22!

Instagramming the Executive’s Awards ceremony

Thursday, October 27th, 2011

Did you come to the Executive’s Awards ceremony on Monday? It was a great night and a wonderful way to celebrate Montgomery County’s cultural community!

As event producer, it was nearly impossible to live-tweet everything once the event started, but here some quick snapshots I took with the Instagram app during soundchecks and set-up for the ceremony:

Backstage during set-up

Warner Williams and Jay Summerour at soundcheck

Christopher K. Morgan and Ignacio Alcover during soundcheck and rehearsal

During the ceremony!

Congrats to all awardees, grantees, performers and a big thank you to all those involved with the production of the ceremony. Until next year!

For more information about this year’s Awards ceremony, click here.

Announcing the winners of the 2010 Executive’s Awards!

Monday, September 20th, 2010

Drumroll please…

Lifetime Impact Award – Carol Trawick

Lifetime Achievement Award – Tamar Hendel

Business or Individual Patron Award – The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

Community Award – Suzanne Richard, Open Circle Theatre

Education Award - Eve Burton, Montgomery County Public Libraries

Emerging Leader Award – Michael Bobbitt, Adventure Theatre

Outstanding Artist or Scholar Award – Shizumi Shigeto Manale

Volunteer Award – Kenneth Rucker, National Capital Trolley Museum

Congrats to this year’s Executive’s Awards winners! Don’t forget to join us at the ceremony where they and recipients of AHCMC FY10 and FY11 grants will be honored.

County Executive’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts and Humanities
Monday, October 18 at 7:00 pm
Music Center at Strathmore
Free and open to all; no RSVP necessary
Visit for more details